top of page

Happy New Year! The Native Farm Bill Coalition has a lot to look forward to in 2023.

What’s new with NFBC:

Starting in February, Native Farm Bill Coalition members, Tribal agriculture producers, Tribal leaders and government staff will fly into Washington, D.C., to meet with legislators and Biden Administration officials from the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA).

While there, they’ll advocate for policy changes in the 2023 Farm Bill that will make resounding, positive impacts for Indian Country. Learn more about the fly-ins by clicking here.

Don’t miss out on the next NFBC Farm Bill Policy Webinar on January 31 at 1:30 p.m. eastern! Staff from the Indigenous Food and Agriculture Initiative, NFBC’s research partner, will be providing updates regarding the Farm Bill.

Register here: /NFBCJan31.

Latest Farm Bill News

The start of the 118th Congress has been eventful, and committees are beginning to take shape. On January 16, 2023, the House Republican Steering Committee finalized 12 Republican members to now serve on the House Committee on Agriculture. Ten days later, majority leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY) announced the Senate Democratic Agriculture, Nutrition & Forestry Committee members.

The committees from both chambers have members with robust Farm Bill experience, including Rep. Frank Lucas (OK-3) who once chaired the House Committee on Agriculture, and Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), who chaired the Senate Agriculture, Nutrition & Forestry Committee in 2011-2015 and has served as current chair since 2021.

Chairman of the House Committee on Agriculture, Representative Glenn “GT” Thompson (PA-15) has expressed his desire for the committee to pass the Farm Bill before the September 2023 deadline.

“It’s imperative we hit the ground running through a rigorous hearing schedule, listening sessions, and aggressive oversight,” Thompson said in a recent press release.

A complete list of the GOP members of the House Committee on Agriculture is as follows:

Returning Members

Rep. Glenn "GT" Thompson (PA-15), Chairman

Rep. Austin Scott (GA-08)

Rep. Rick Crawford (AR-01)

Rep. Scott DesJarlais (TN-04)

Rep. Doug LaMalfa (CA-01)

Rep. David Rouzer (NC-07)

Rep. Trent Kelly (MS-01)

Rep. Don Bacon (NE-02)

Rep. Dusty Johnson (SD-AL)

Rep. Jim Baird (IN-04)

Rep. Tracey Mann (KS-01)

Rep. Mary Miller (IL-15)

Rep. Barry Moore (AL-02)

Rep. Kat Cammack (FL-03)

Rep. Brad Finstad (MN-01)

New Members

Rep. Frank Lucas (OK-03)

Rep. John Rose (TN-06)

Rep. Ronny Jackson (TX-13)

Rep. Mark Alford (MO-04)

Rep. Lori Chavez-DeRemer (OR-05)

Rep. Monica De La Cruz (TX-15)

Rep. John Duarte (CA-13)

Rep. Nick Langworthy (NY-23)

Rep. Max Miller (OH-07)

Rep. Marc Molinaro (NY-19)

Rep. Zach Nunn (IA-03)

Rep. Derrick Van Orden (WI-03)

Senate Agriculture, Nutrition & Forestry Committee's Democratic membership includes:

Sen. Debbie Stabenow, (D-MI), Chair

Sen. Sherrod Brown, (D-OH)

Sen. Klobuchar, (D-MN)

Sen. Michael Bennet, (D-CO)

Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand, (D-NY)

Sen. Tina Smith, (D-MN)

Sen. Richard "Dick" Durbin, (D-IL)

Sen. Cory Booker, (D-NJ)

Sen. Ray Luján, (D-NM)

Sen. Raphael Warnock, (D-GA)

Sen. Peter Welch, (D-VT)

Sen. John Fetterman, (D-PA)



bottom of page